Skip to content

Jo Seagar’s cafe & cooking school: a great foodie destination

June 27, 2012
IMG_1275 (480x640)

Lunch at Jo ‘easy peasy’ Seagar’s Cafe in Oxford is on most foodies “must do” list, and I’m thrilled to be taken there by one of the Look After Me hosts. A kiwi treasure, Jo Seagar is loved on TV and her cook books fly off the shelves.

 

The Cafe, Cook School and Kitchen Store thrives in this rural town – originally considered, by some, a strange choice when Jo relocated here some years ago she has proved all wrong: and as some-one who lived here for a couple of years as a child, to me  it seemed an unlikely place for her venture. My visit confirms I too was wrong – it also seems to be a stop-over on the Canterbury cyclists’ route

Jo and I are both trusty-worthy!

 

 

“Never trust a skinny cook” she tells us: I poke my nose into her class and watch as the lunch for the participants is plated up – then go back out to eat my own in the café.

The food is hearty and all the plates that are carried past us look tempting – it’s not far from Christchurch and I must go there again.

The café sits comfortably in its rural surroundings and the art on display (and for sale) of paintings of rural New Zealand line the walls: sheep, border collies, cattle, and barns. Well done Jo!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,268 other followers

