How to use a toilet – in a Thai train

How to use a toilet – in a Thai train: from person experience

between shows - Bangkok
Dancers between shows – in Bangkok – but nothing to do with the train!

Inside a small silver-lined room, the floor wet and smelly from twelve hours of use, I finally need to use the toilet: it’s about eighteen inches above the floor.

Rolling my pants legs up to avoid the wetness, I clamp my knees together to stop the material falling back down, then drop the waist of my green, Thai fisherman pants.

Climbing up onto the shining edifice ā€“ while keeping my knees together – I place my feet either side of the hole, and, with the train rocking alarmingly, hold on. Moments later I reverse the process and leave.

I’m relieved I haven’t been cursed with the travellers disease; the trots, runs, dheli belly, or whatever common name is given to dysentery and diarrhoea, that so, I’m sure I won’t need to come back into the throne-room ā€“ well not for a while anyway.