Archive | January 18, 2010

Bungee jumping, views, and losing weight

I wrote this from a room with a view. A  room in which various national and international ‘artists in residence’ have used to relax , sleep, or work.

I am supposed to be blogging about diabetes and weight .. but that all seems boring: nevertheless I can happily report  – after 7 weeks – my blood pressure is normal and I have lost over 5% of my body weight. Now back to writing a blog, or rather republishing a column I wrote when I was travel editor for a local newspaper.

As I sit and await the muse to visit (surely there must be some residual energy from those other writers) I gaze out the window at the view.

The Peacock Fountain, set in the Christchurch Botanic Gardens, was built in cast iron in 1911, and is the background to many photographs travelling to all points of the compass. As people pose, it sprays it’s water regularly from the dolphins, and is well decorated with herons, lily leaves, and other undefined foliage.

I think of other views, other places: some from on high, others just a glimpse through a door or window . . .

read more on my ‘other’ blog here:

l

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,645 other followers

