Maori welcome to WOMAD artists

I love this shot! Media and artists go photo mad!
I just love this shot! Media and artists go camera crazy

WOMAD NZ 2010 artists were welcomed to Aotearoa / New Zealand (and Taranaki of course) at a special powhiri on at Owae Marae, Waitara.

As media, I  too was  invited to attend the event which is always an uplifting and colourful event and one which artists talk about for many years.

It’s hard to work out who-is-who, but maybe you can recognise one of your favourites.

We all wait to be led onto Owae Marae

Local school pupils wecome us with song
Monks join us as we are called onto the marae
Outside the carved wharenui (meeting house)
On this marae men go in first - not something I've experienced. I'm told by a local Maori photographer that it's because women are sacred, so are protected by the men leading the way: "no women, no children, no tribe ' he said. NOTE: I have not verifed his comment.
After each speech, it is supported by waiata ( song)
A welcome is always followed by a meal - Eliades Ochoa sits opposite me
Sitting beside me, Jenny, and Lester Stirling (The Skatalites) chatter over their meal

NOTE: This blog is one of a series about my recent  road trip to WOMAD 2010 (World of Music and Dance) held annually in New Plymouth and other parts of the world:  I was travelling in a Backpacker campervan, and on the Interislander ferry over Cook Strait – from Christchurch to WOMAD and back again: enjoy, and leave me a comment or two!

To find the other blogs about the trip, look up the categories to the right of this blog page: ie WOMAD; Interislander Ferry; Music; Campervan, Maori, and bookmark this page, or sign up for an email update for when I add new bogs n the series – they will include the Maori welcome to the artists, links to music by my favourites, cooking with some of the various singers, the Gyuto Monks with their mediations, singing and cooking, and of course, my road trip in the campervan, and lots of photos of people at WOMAD.

Shoes must be removed before entering the wharenui