International Women’s Day in Wellington, New Zealand

International Women’s Day celebrates 100 years today, and to mark the day I,  and some 270 other men and women,  attended a breakfast in the Banquet Hall of New Zealand’s Parliament Building: I was seated at the VTNZ table.

Each table had flyers of reminding us of "100 Women Who Changed the World"- a wide sample of women.

This is an annual event hosted by the Minister of Women’s Affairs and the Zonta Club of Wellington and UN Women Aotearoa New Zealand.

“You may write me down in history

With your bitter, twisted lies,

You may trod me in the very dirt

But still, like dust, I’ll rise”

– Maya Angelou from ‘Still I rise’

 


The Mayor Of Wellington Celia Wade-Brown

Minister of Womens Affairs Hon. Hekia Parata
Minister of Women's Affairs Hon. Hekia Parata

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Next year, make sure the invitation has your name and I’ll see you there

 

Author: Heather - the kiwi travel writer

Nomadic travel-writer, photographer, author & blogger. See more on http://kiwitravelwriter.com and Amazon for my books (heather hapeta)

1 thought on “International Women’s Day in Wellington, New Zealand”

Comments are closed.