Northland, New Zealand–my road-trip begins

Many thanks to Destination Northland for helping with my itinerary and Rental Cars New Zealand for the vehicle for this road trip: I can recommend both

************************************************************************************************

Well, day one of my travels started with light rain in Wellington and my voice. I left them both behind in the capital!

Auckland was muggy and it wasn’t long before I picked up the rental car, and my kiwi-speaking Tom-tom (gps) under in orders as where we were off to (Whangarei) we headed off. Although I’d planned on two hours from Auckland to Clapham’s National Clock Museum It was a good half hour to get to the Harbour Bridge and my road trip felt as though it was really beginning.

I was amazed how interesting the museum and its 1400 clocks are and there will be a blog about it on my return: so all you clock and curio lovers bookmark this page and come back to read it and see the photos.

A quick stop at the Whangarei Falls and it was not long before I was at Tutukaka and the award-winning Oceans Resort Hotel – a fabulous place with great views over the marina – I can see why it’s a popular wedding venue and destination! (@oceansresort)

For dinner I had the best hapuku I have eaten since I don’t know when ( accompanied by Moroccan –style baby potatoes, with fresh beans and bacon and the most divine red pepper sauce. I could have almost picked the plate up and licked it! So, in Tutukaka, head for Schnappa Rock Restaurant & Bar (@schapparock) where I’m sure anything on the menu will be just as delicious.

So ended day one and it’s morning now and after a great sleep, and waking to a beautiful sky I find on talking to myself my voice has not yet caught up with me – it’s still hanging out in Wellington – in fact I think it’s retreated even further under the duvet, refusing to come out!

A few photos to whet your appetite for a trip to NZ’s famous Northland.

IMG_5840IMG_5751 (1024x768)

IMG_5767 (1024x768)IMG_5781 (1024x768)IMG_5787 (1024x768)IMG_5838 (1024x768)IMG_5806 (1024x768)IMG_5819 (1024x768)IMG_5793 (1024x768)

One comment

Comments are closed.