Great train routes I’ve taken–have you?

I’m reading the 2006 book ‘Strangers in my Sleeper’ by fellow kiwi and travel writer, Peter Riordan, and it’s made me think of some of the many rail journeys I have taken, some return or multiple trips and, many in sleepers with strangers!

Off the top of my head they include:

Egypt:

  • Cairo to Aswan

Zimbabwe:

  • Harare to Victoria Falls

New Zealand:

  • Christchurch to Arthurs Pass
  • Christchurch to Picton
  • Christchurch to Invercargill
  • Wellington to Auckland (and return)

USA:

  • Miami to New York
  • LA to San Diego
  • Anchorage to Fairbanks

Thailand:

  • Bangkok to Suratani
  • Bangkok to Changmai
  • Suratani to Georgetown (Malaysia)
  • Kota Bharu to Kuala Lumpur

Europe:

  • London to Paris
  • Miami to Parma
  • Budapest to Prague

India:

  • Delhi to Haridwar
  • Haridwar to Agra
  • Jaipur to Mumbai
  • Kerala to Indore
  • Mumbai to Kerala (Ernakulum)

What are your favourite rail journeys? And, have you done any on my list – what did you think of them?

IMG_2306IMG_2491

Author: Heather - the kiwi travel writer

Nomadic travel-writer, photographer, author & blogger. See more on http://kiwitravelwriter.com and Amazon for my books (heather hapeta)

6 thoughts on “Great train routes I’ve taken–have you?”

      1. The train journey from Hong Kong to China, beijing, Shanghai and back. On the list are the re runs between my hometown Allahabad and New Delhi and the hill stations, Simla and nainital (northern India). Planning a trip to Mumbai and pune by train from New Delhi. Would love to travel across Europe and United States

        Like

Comments are closed.