Happy 50th anniversary to Sarawak, Borneo

image

Sarawak celebrates 50 years of independence from Britain today, 22nd July (1963)

It also saw it becoming an independent nation for 77 days before helping form Malysia that same year. Today celebrations are being held in Kutching to mark the event — I saw tents and stage being errected and had wished i could have stayed to enjoy the renenactment of the lowering of the Union Jack on the wonderful water front.

image
Building being water blasted for celebrations
image
State goverment building which I had the privillage of visiting

Posted from WordPress for Android

Author: Heather - the kiwi travel writer

Nomadic travel-writer, photographer, author & blogger. See more on http://kiwitravelwriter.com and Amazon for my books (heather hapeta)

2 thoughts on “Happy 50th anniversary to Sarawak, Borneo”

  1. Beautiful write-up, I really enjoyed reading it. Borneo is one of my favorite places to visit. I love to just get a car rental and drive around, it’s great fun!

    Like

Comments are closed.