Being alone … overcoming fear at home or during travels

People often ask about me ‘are you afraid when traveling alone?’ and ‘dont you get lonely?’ so thought it was time to repost this for others with the same concerns.

KiwiTravelWriter talks food, travel, and tips

In middle-eastern or Asian countries people are often sad, or amazed, that I’m happy to be travelling alone and some women on dating web-sites appear fearful at the thought of being alone.

It seems this fear of being alone is almost primal in many – equating being alone to being lonely. Not so.

Years ago I also feared being alone and often contrived to have people around by having parties, marrying, living or sleeping with men so there was someone in my life, that I was not alone. Nevertheless, being surrounded by people did not guarantee I wasn’t lonely even though I was ‘not alone’ and at times, could still be alone in a crowd.

I have now learnt how to be alone, whether I’m in a group of people, alone at home, or traveling the world, and not be lonely. Here are a few photos of me alone!

View original post 660 more words

Author: Heather - the kiwi travel writer

Nomadic travel-writer, photographer, author & blogger. See more on http://kiwitravelwriter.com and Amazon for my books (heather hapeta)

Enjoyed this? Please leave a comment and share it - It's always good to know what you're thinking.

