The King is dead – Thai people will be mourning their much-loved leader

Hearing of the overnight death of Thailand’s 88 year old King Bhumibol Adulyadej, makes me think of the day, in Bangkok, that I was invited to become part a ceremony which was celebrating the King’s 79th birthday, and when 79 men became monks in his honour.

He was the world’s longest-reigning monarch, has died after 70 years as head of state. My condolences go to all the Thai people, who I’ve met over many years, who absolutely loved him.

 

Crown Prince Maha Vajiralongkorn will be the new monarch, the Thai Prime Minister has said.

Under the gaze of a photo of their King these men gather to be ordained as monks.

 

I too take a snip of hair from each man

Author: Heather - the kiwi travel writer

Nomadic travel-writer, photographer, author & blogger. See more on http://kiwitravelwriter.com and Amazon for my books (heather hapeta)

1 thought on “The King is dead – Thai people will be mourning their much-loved leader”

  1. Dear Heather, I did enjoy this article. I hope to visit Thailand in February, and the article puts me much more in the picture. I also wanted to share a bad experience and ask how I can let the maximum number of people know about it.

    I booked a car on rentalcars.com for 4 days for $49–wonderful price, and the site said this is the full rental price. AFTER I’d paid, a note came up that there could be additional charges. The Rennes, France, rental office was called and they said the Rennes rental office has NO additional charges. But when I checked online with the rentalcars.com chat, I learned another office had huge additional fees so I asked the chat about fees at the Rennes office. I learned from them that the additional fees (for a prime location and road fee) were about 70 euros and that I probably would also be charged for collision coverage even though my credit card offers that.

    Without a car, I can’t get to the places I want (according to the extremely useful rome2rio.com) in the few days I have there, so I’ve had to cancel the trip and have lost really substantial nonrefundable payments. I’m very unhappy. How can I get the word out? Is tripadvisor a good way? Thanks, Heather!

    Liked by 1 person

Enjoyed this? Please leave a comment and share it - It's always good to know what you're thinking.

